Rape Victims Met in the Heaven

*An imaginary conversation between those who were raped in India and killed/committed suicide/died as the treatment at the hospital didn’t save them*
—-
“I was traveling alone in the night with just one friend in a private bus. Maybe, it was my mistake,” Jyoti Singh (Nirbhaya) kick-started the conversation.
“Yeah, I was so stupid to visit the Shakti Mills, Man. I shouldn’t have. Damn!” added the one sitting next to her, caressing her shoulders.
“Maybe the soft plumpness of my breasts or the scarlet lipstick provoked them to do,” Jyoti Singh said.
“My sister was a child, she was yet to develop full-grown breasts, and we’ve both had no opportunity to touch lipsticks, but was still raped and hanged,” said the 14 and 16-year-old sisters wiping away their tears.
Age, maybe!
Hahahaha, I was 71 when I was raped.” the grandma rolled her eyes. “I was nothing. I was not beautiful. No lipsticks, hair color or whatever you young chicks do,
Clothes. Yes!
I was wearing a burkha, dude. My face was also covered. I’m not sure what provoked them,” fumed the lady.
Nationality?
I’m an American. I was raped in your country.” One said, with a tight fake frown. “They’d rape any woman, no matter what!”
Well, I was a newborn when I was raped,” said the child. “They just want a hole, apparently!
True that. I was raped and killed too,” said the guy and took a deep breath.
I am neither a woman nor a man – transgender, but, you know what happens to us, right?” sighed, the other.
pexels-photo
Why would you want to disperse the blame between the rapist and the victim?
Why is the heart inside your chest so completely numb?
The way she/he left the world – is a shame to you, me and the society.
And, you think by discussing the victim’s clothes, you’d uncover a great grand mystery?
A human with flesh, soul, and a purpose to live was forced to breathe their last.
How can you see a motionless body and find reasons to blame the soul that was residing in it?
What’s interesting in the search for a blemish of imperfection on the deceased?
Your curiosity hits a new high whenever a new rape case clouds the television screen – To what the dead owe this shame?
For you, a person raped is just another Facebook update or a tweet.
You’d share another funny meme in an hour, order a deep dish pizza, and grab a cold beer.
While her family’s eyes are growing heavy with your comments and they struggle to blink away that pain.
There can be only one reason for ‘rape’ – Mentality of the person committing the crime.
Stop blaming the victim.
Stop dispersing the blame.
— Kavipriya Moorthy

 

Leave a Reply

