Have Some Shame!

When I first had a crush, And when I said that to the person of interest, He said “You’re a woman. Have some shame!”
 When I fell in love for the first time,When I winked and blew an air-kiss to him because the initial butterflies in my stomach made me do so, He met me in private and warned, “You’re a woman. Have some shame!”
 When I was all in love and when all the songs made perfect sense, And, when I got some private time with him,I hugged him from behind, He turned and said, “You’re a woman, have some shame!” – Because a Woman doesn’t take initiative.
 When I was intimate with my ‘forever partner’ and when I barged in to give him the first kiss because the inevitable chill wouldn’t let me be, He again said the same lines that all others said.
 pexels-photo-594421
I’ve had no qualms about showing affection to my own body, When my roommate caught me pleasuring, she was shocked, she gave me a disgusting look, and told, “You’re a woman and you’re not supposed to do that. You’re in India not in a foreign country. Have some shame!”
 I failed once, I was deeply distressed and upset, But I didn’t cry, Many around me were shocked that I didn’t and said “You’re a woman!” How can you not cry, are you a stone?
When someone groped me on the road, I got all worked up and I pulled up a fight, “OMG! You’re a woman. Have some shame, will you?”
 When I started working, I striven to become better, And, I was put in a situation to raise my voice because none listens to the feeble, “Stop yelling will you? Act like a woman!” they suppressed me.
 The other day when I was munching a pack of chips, Loud and all that, They said, “You’re a woman. You’d grow fat. And then, you’re not allowed to eat that loud,”
Have some shame, woman. Don’t burp or fart or pick your nose. You’re a goddamn woman for a reason.
 I met a bunch of friends, A group of men and women, And, I didn’t notice that I had a wardrobe dysfunction and that my cleavage took a sneak peek, “This is so wrong! Are you giving signals to any of the guys? You’re a woman. Women don’t do that. Have some shame!”  they said. They’re clearly not proud about having me in their lives.
 If you don’t have a problem when a person with penis does something and if you have a problem if a person with a vagina and a pair of boobs does the same thing, it’s you who should be ashamed.
Have some shame, dear society!
 Stop sexism!

3 thoughts on “Have Some Shame!”

  1. You said it! The strongest message put in the sweetest way ! Each and every sentence is quite relatable to every Indian girl. That last sentence for the society though…Savage!

    Like

  2. Wow. Great Post👌
    So true for so many women. Truth of society. Well narrated.

    Do visit my latest blog post too

    “You and me both are bound to fall. You would laugh on me and I would laugh on you. Then both of us would extend our hands for each other.”😄

    #TowardsBliss #shineshraddhablog

    http://www.shineshraddha.blog/2017/12/11/kaaassshhh-is-a-magical-word%f0%9f%98%84-come-along-hand-in-hand-towardsbliss-between-the-gaps-of-perfection/

    Like

Leave a comment